Honoring Your Inner Athlete: 5 Reasons to Exercise that Have Nothing to do with Swimsuit Season

June 29, 2012

I remember one time shortly after I started running, one of my neighbors stopped me one day and asked what I was training for. I was surprised by her question, because I was not working toward any type of race or run or would have ever considered myself any type of athlete, I was simply getting exercise. I gave a slight shoulder shrug, and responded with the only answer that came to mind: “Life.” I did eventually participate in two 10K runs and still get out to run, even if only for ten minutes, several times each week. Since that time, my fitness level has varied from fit to very fit to more fit than those who get no exercise and I have learned so much about myself at each level. The most predominant thing I’ve learned is that I feel more myself and more empowered when my physical body is fit and strong.

Reflecting back, I can now see how truthful my response to my neighbor’s question was. Regardless if I’m doing laundry or mowing the grass, cleaning the house or walking up and down stairs, let’s face it—Life is a physical activity. We thrive when we are active and we merely survive, at best, with inactivity. The body loves to move, was designed to move, and it’s our ability to move throughout this world that provides us with this beautiful amazing experience. Maintaining a certain level of fitness allows me to experience a level of ease that I never experienced before simply by loving myself enough to give myself the gift of being fit.

Naturally, I had to check out the root of the word “athlete” upon this realization that day in and day out, I’m participating in a physical activity. What I found made me smile 🙂 “contestant in the games.” To summarize some of my beliefs into one sentence, I believe that we are all here to feel joy, peace, bliss and ease and the world is created to be our playground. If you need evidence to back this belief up, I encourage you to stand on a beach and look out at the ocean, venture into a field of wildflowers with blue skies and fluffy artistic white clouds overhead, or gaze up at a clear night sky. Now tell me the world around you does not evoke wonder, curiosity, inspiration and play. That’s all I see through my eyes. Applying this to the above mentioned roots of the word athlete, I find us. You and me. Contestants in a game. Regardless if we realize it, own it, or not, as a natural side effect of our human experience, we are all athletes. Our event: Life.

5 Reasons to Honor Your Body with Regular Exercise that Do Not include transforming yourself physically in an attempt to be something others will approve of and accept:

1-      Honoring the Gift You’ve Been Given—This was the clincher for me. When I embraced my perfection by default of existing and truly realized my body is my vehicle for traveling my Soul around this earth, I found a desire to follow God/Life’s blueprint on how to maximize my physical potential in order to maximize my emotional and spiritual potential. It’s simple: the body thrives with the right balance of nutrition and movement. If I were to build a house, I wouldn’t use just any materials. I would use those that would provide the most solid, long-lasting foundation possible to ensure a long-standing return on my investment. I began to view not following this basic blueprint as going against God/Life’s basic plan, and not honoring the gift I’ve been entrusted with. I view it as being a good steward of my body.

2-      Love Yourself Into Fitness—Another tool that greatly assisted my shift from “got to” workout to “choose to” workout, is letting go of what I have to do in order to be loved and accepted by myself and others, and choosing to instead Love myself enough to give myself the gift of movement and feeling fit, strong and capable to handle any physical task set before me.  Along the journey to Self-Love, exercise became a way of life, a natural side effect of Loving me.

3-      Meeting Your Needs First—Move yourself to the top of your priority list! If you do not take care of you, no one else will. If your reason for not taking care of you is based on not having time because you are so busy taking care of others, this is all the more reason to swap around your priorities. Who’s gonna do the care-taking if you run yourself into the ground and are no longer able to do it all? If you focus on meeting your needs first, you will find that you have more of yourself to give to others, creating the most selfless environment possible. Do it for those depending on you until you can do it for yourself. Start with 10-minutes a week of you time and increase from there to 10-minutes multiple times a week, to 10-minutes every day, and so on…

4-      True Total Body Fitness—Learning that certain foods drastically affect my energy and mood levels, I quickly found the same to be true for exercise. Not only does regular exercise improve your physical performance, it always increases your feel good moods and energy levels throughout the day. I believe it is next to impossible to have a balanced, healthy emotional and spiritual life without honoring your physical body as well.

5-      You (and Your Loved Ones) Deserve the Ease of Fitness—Life is challenging enough! Increase your ease by eliminating the winded feeling from climbing stairs, arms tiring when folding or carrying laundry, not being able to run around with your kids, grandkids, nieces and nephews or pets. You and your loved ones desire the best you possible and to experience life with as much ease as possible.

You can do this. I believe in you. If I may be of support in any way as you take on honoring your inner athlete, kindly let me know the best way for me to do so. I would be blessed and honored to join you on your journey.

*resource dictionary.com

I appreciate you taking the time to read my posting & I’ll be posting great new information, tips & tools weekly. If you have a recipe you’d like for me to try out & review, topics you’d like to hear about, or any other comments, feedback, or suggestions, kindly send me a message to AskCrissy@gmail.com and I will address the matter in a future blog posting. Be sure to subscribe to my Blog & YouTube Channel, visit my website regularly, and follow me on Facebook & Twitter, to stay plugged in to all of my offerings. As always, I wish you infinite love, blessings, peace, and joy as we take this journey together. I am blessed & honored to share my path with you.

Crissy

Receive daily inspiration and tools, exclusive rates on services, along with premium access to ALL of my offerings for less than $1 day!

Click here to discover more!

5 Responses to “Honoring Your Inner Athlete: 5 Reasons to Exercise that Have Nothing to do with Swimsuit Season”

  1. Yet another great post, Crissy 🙂 My path seems to have been to heal emotionally & mentally first and just now am I beginning to deal with the physical. It was tempting, for a while, to try to convince myself that because we are spiritual beings, my body wasn’t a priority, but I’m through with trying to fool myself about that. I’ve been taking the baby steps, and they are adding up to miles ❤

  2. I love the concept of us being athletes in the game of life! I love what you said about life being a physical activity and that yes, we do want to move through it with ease!

    • Awesome, JoAnne!! I’m so glad you were able to relate to my post. I feel we are surrounded by reasons to exercise that have to do with us not being enough, when in truth its a gift we can give to ourselves because we are enough 🙂

  3. […] Exercise is not something reserved for the ultra-healthy or those desiring to shed a few pounds. It’s a basic need, like breathing, that when met, allows us to tap into the true potential we have physically, and in our life experience. It is not a chore, it’s a gift. An endless gift you chose to give to yourself, your family and the world around you. Choosing to give this gift, regardless if it’s for only ten-minutes a day, is something you are so deserving of receiving. Life is a physical event, so begin viewing yourself as an athlete. If you need a bit more encouragement to do so, I recommend reading a post I wrote last year on Honoring Your Inner Athlete. […]

  4. […] Exercise is not something reserved for the ultra-healthy or those desiring to shed a few pounds. It’s a basic need, like breathing, that when met, allows us to tap into the true potential we have physically, and in our life experience. It is not a chore, it’s a gift. An endless gift you chose to give to yourself, your family and the world around you. Choosing to give this gift, regardless if it’s for only ten-minutes a day, is something you are so deserving of receiving. Life is a physical event, so begin viewing yourself as an athlete. If you need a bit more encouragement to do so, I recommend reading a post I wrote last year on Honoring Your Inner Athlete. […]

Leave a Reply

