Wonderfully Weird: Simple Steps to Self-Love

May 27, 2012

This morning I was reading a book in which the author brought up a belief that we are each given one word to live out in our life. Everyone has their own unique one, their theme for their life’s message and mission.  This word is not something that comes natural to us, because we cannot teach what we have not learned. I don’t know if Self-Love counts as one word, or if it is my word, though I do know that at the core of all of my teachings and the most life shifting and serving experience I’ve had, is living into being comfortable in my own skin after 30 years of living in the contrary. It didn’t take long to realize the beauty, peace, love and fulfillment that has entered my life is something I believe everyone is deserving of experiencing, and so Self-Love is by far what I am most passionate about teaching. Regardless if I’m teaching others how to lose weight, gain health, heal relationships or any other aspect of unlocking their physical, emotional and spiritual potential, at the essence of it all, is always Self-Love.

A huge step in my journey to Self-Love was the understanding, or fully embracing and accepting of, the fact that we are by divine design, perfection exactly as is. (More on our perfection was written in my past blog: The Proof is in the Perfection: 5 Steps to Accepting That It’s All Perfect!) The things that make us different and unlike others is what makes us awesome. For myself, I spent the majority of my life trying, wanting, and rarely feeling like I actually mastered being like others around me and those I admired and were drawn toward for their natural beauty, inside and out. When I fully realized that there was no other Crissy Keye to compare myself to and that by comparing myself to anyone else-be it physically, mentally, emotionally, or in any other way, was non-serving because only they could be them, I began to love myself exactly as I am in every aspect of my life. I began to love myself and want only the best for myself simply to honor the gift I’ve been given to live and experience the world as only I can. I’m going to discuss this deeper in my upcoming blog From Chore to Choice, for now I’ll just say all of my “have” to, “need” to, “should” do’s and the like gave way to being a natural side effect of loving ME.

By accepting myself, I began looking for the unique gifts others brought to the table. I quickly realized that what we love about those we love is when they are being their beautiful, natural, unique, human, non-“perfect” selves. When they try to cover up or make up for some self-viewed flaw, than they become someone they are not and agitate or annoy us. It’s in our weird-ness that we shine our brightest, so naturally I had to see what was at the root of the word “weird” to see what deeper truth lies there. What I found was beautiful: “fate, destiny,” “to become.” What is weird is what is wonderful about you. There’s no need to deny or resist who you were perfectly made to be. Release the urge to be, do, have, desire what others are, do, have and want. You are perfectly you, in all of your weirdness, and destined to be exactly what you are….Weirdness and all.

Your mission, if you choose to accept it, is to begin to explore and discover with child-like curiosity what is weird about you and everyone around you. Here’s some simple steps to get you started:

  • Take an inventory to discover what parts of yourself you are keeping hidden from others. For myself, I noticed times that I would have the prompt to say or do something that I self-censored out of fear of others not liking, accepting or understanding.
  • Observe the choices of others:
    • When you are attracted to them, notice the natural beauty they are sharing that no other can.
    • When you are resistant to them, what self-viewed inadequacy could they be mis-perceiving in themselves?
    • How can you support them in being themselves?

     

  • When you have the impulse to do something and stop/talk/think yourself out of immediately following through with the idea, ask yourself why.
    • Is there fear that someone may not like your choice?
    • Are you worried someone will misinterpret/not understand your choice/action?
    • Are you look to avoid rejection/fear you will no longer be accepted/lose someone’s love?
  • Challenge yourself to begin acting on your prompts. Once your mind gathers feedback that it is safe, and in truth preferred for you to simply be you, you will likely begin to find it more of a challenge NOT to simply be your naturally designed to succeed irresistibly wonderful self 🙂

*resource dictionary.com

I appreciate you taking the time to read my posting & I’ll be posting great new information, tips & tools weekly. If you have a recipe you’d like for me to try out & review, topics you’d like to hear about, or any other comments, feedback, or suggestions, kindly send me a message to AskCrissy@gmail.com and I will address the matter in a future blog posting. Be sure to subscribe to my Blog & YouTube Channel, visit my website regularly, and follow me on Facebook & Twitter, to stay plugged in to all of my offerings. As always, I wish you infinite love, blessings, peace, and joy as we take this journey together. I am blessed & honored to share my path with you.

Crissy

Receive daily inspiration and tools, exclusive rates on services, along with premium access to ALL of my offerings for less than $1 day!

Click here to discover more!

8 Responses to “Wonderfully Weird: Simple Steps to Self-Love”

  1. I love my weirdness…finally! I’ve always had this closeted kind of “in your face-ness” that peeked it’s way out from time to time but would always go running back into hiding. Nowadays…I’m pretty much just plain weird all the time. Just ask my kids 😉

    Great post, Crissy! & btw…I love your weirdness, too ❤

    • Humble on the inside, bold on the outside. Thanks for commenting Joy! I’m so glad you liked this post 🙂

      • I’ve been thinking about what my word is…I think it’s my name 🙂 Learning how to live up to it has been a great challenge and opportunity, and now hoping to share it with the world… Thanks once again for the spiritual food, Crissy!

  2. There is freedom in just being me. It’s easy, it flows. It’s not easy trying to figure out how to be in order to be perceived a certain way. Thanks for the insights as always!!!

  3. That’s great, Joy! I so appreciate your support & willingness to explore within ♥

  4. […] blogs such as the Proof is in the Perfection: 5 Steps to Accepting That It’s All Perfect! and Wonderfully Weird: Simple Steps to Self-Love, is the very proof that we are just as amazing, exquisite and perfectly exact as each snowflake, […]

  5. […] blogs such as the Proof is in the Perfection: 5 Steps to Accepting That It’s All Perfect! and Wonderfully Weird: Simple Steps to Self-Love, is the very proof that we are just as amazing, exquisite and perfectly exact as each snowflake, […]

Leave a Reply

